How Governor Willie Obiano Of Anambra State Mourned And Honoured The Biafra Dead On January 12, 2015 At Dr. Alex Ekwueme Square, Awka

Chief Rommy Ezeonwuka (Ogilisi) muted the Idea to Governor Willie Obiano, but he did not immediately agree. He brought the Idea to me as the then National Chairman of All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) to convince the Governor to agree to the Proposal. I have been working with Chief Ezeonwuka in the Igbo Struggle before then. I went to the Governor and discussed with him and he accepted to do it. The Governor asked me to constitute the Committee. I made a List which he approved as follows;
1. Col Joe Achuzia- Chairman
2. Col Emma Nwobosi
3. Col Ben Gbulie
4. Col Emma Udeaja
5. Col Patrick Anwuna
6.Prof Pita Ejiofor
7. Chief Rommy Ezeonwuka
8. Igwe Bob Jonathan Onyema ( Ojukwu’s last Chief of Staff )

His Excellency added;
9. Henry Obaze- Secretary to the State Government (SSG)
10. Tony Onyima- Honourable Commissioner for Information & Culture.

I personally contacted the Biafran War Leaders then alive and they accepted to serve before I submitted the List to His Excellency including Col Joe Achuzia.

May the Souls of all our brothers and sisters who died during the Civil War continue to Rest In Peace, Amen.

May the Souls of those who have died since the Ozoemezina Ceremony also rest in perfect peace, namely

1. Col Joe Achuzia
2. Col Emma Nwobosi
3. Igwe Bob Onyema.


God bless.

Senator Dr Victor Umeh, OFR.

Leave a Reply